What is the best way to learn TOGAF?

Pass the TOGAF exam and achieve TOGAF certification and you’ll prove to your employers, clients and colleagues that you know how to implement the world’s most reliable enterprise architecture (EA). By using TOGAF in your organisation, you’ll be able to develop an Enterprise Architecture that is flexible, consistent and employs the best practices. But what is the best way to learn TOGAF? What TOGAF Learning Material is required to obtain the required knowledge to pass the TOGAF Certification exams? In this article we’ll answer these questions, plus a few more!


How difficult is the TOGAF Certification Exam?

Pass the TOGAF exam and achieve TOGAF certification and you’ll prove to your employers, clients and colleagues that you know how to implement the world’s most reliable enterprise architecture (EA).

To achieve your TOGAF certification, you must pass both the Level 1 & Level 2 TOGAF exams. Fail one of these exams and you won’t achieve an overall pass result - but you can retake the one you failed.

Getting the TOGAF certification is an investment of time - it can be achieved with hard work, determination and a good knowledge of the material. There are no shortcuts. To help you learn TOGAF and obtain the knowledge, language and practical examples needed to pass the certification exam, it is recommend that you attached an Accredited TOGAF Certification classroom training course, such as the one offered by EA Learning. 


What is the best way to learn TOGAF?

There are many options available to those who wish to learn TOGAF. For those wanting a general knowledge of TOGAF there are a range of online courses available. However if you are looking to learn TOGAF in order to pass the exam and become TOGAF certified you will need to obtain a deep understanding of an extremely large range of complex topics. It is highly recommended that those who are looking to become TOGAF certified attached an accredited TOGAF training classroom course.

Accredited TOGAF courses, like the one provided by EA Learning, are subject to an assessment both of the course and also the personal and organisation providing the course. This was you can be assured you are receiving a high level quality of training. Attending a TOGAF classroom training course is one of the most efficient ways to learn TOGAF and pass the TOGAF certification exam. 


What TOGAF Learning Material is required to pass the TOGAF Certification exams?

There is a wide range of TOGAF Learning Material available for those who need to obtain the required knowledge to pass the TOGAF certification exam. This TOGAF Learning Material includes items such as; sample artefacts, comprehensive case studies, worked examples, revision flashcards, white papers, posters and handouts. When attending the EA Learning classroom training course, you will receive all these TOGAF Learning Material items free. 


Feedback from past TOGAF attendees:

“The instructor knew not only the material, but also the audience. He was able to tailor it for the people in the room and allowed for some discussion between participants.” IT Architect
“Great course, really informative, able to put all of the TOGAF processes into perspective. The instructor added allot of real world knowledge from his own experiences.” Consultant - Cloud Solutions
“This was an excellent course with continuous 'real world' application of the framework. The facilitator was excellent at assisting us in applying \ tailoring TOGAF to our individual organisations.” Senior Business Consultant

Fast forward your future with us, enquire now.

Have you read and agreed to our privacy policy?

Our accredited training course covers all of the TOGAF® Standard Version 9.2 Key Learning Points as defined in the Open Group’s TOGAF® Standard Version 9.2 curriculum. Included within this are the following subject areas:

  • The new concepts introduced to TOGAF® Standard Version 9.2.
  • The business rationale behind Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF® Standard.
  • The overall structure and contents of the TOGAF® Standard Version 9.2 document and the key subject matter content.
  • The Architecture Development Method (ADM) cycle and all the phases that make up the cycle.
  • The techniques defined for use in Architecture development.
  • The Architecture Content Framework and the purpose of each of the elements.
  • The guidelines for adapting the ADM process.
  • The Enterprise Continuum and Tools.
  • The concepts, taxonomy and graphical representations of the TOGAF® Standard reference models and their application.
  • The Architecture Capability Framework.
  • The make-up of an Architecture skills framework and why it is needed

      The structure of the course is as follows:

      Structure of the TOGAF® Standard

      Part I: Introduction​

      Part II: Architecture Development Method​

      Part III: ADM Guidelines and Techniques​

      Part IV: Architecture Content Framework​

      Part V: Enterprise Continuum and Tools​

      Part VI: Architecture Capability Framework​

     Structure of the TOGAF® Standard Library

     Section 1: Foundation Documents​

     Section 2: Generic Guidelines and Techniques​

     Section 3: Industry-Specific Guidance and Techniques​

     Section 4: Organisation-Specific Guidance and Techniques​


TOGAF® is a registered trademark of The Open Group

How TOGAF Standard Version 9.2 Differs From TOGAF Standard 9.1

TOGAF Standard, Version 9.2 is a great improvement on Version 9.1. The materials and flow in the latest release now has a more understandable, direct bearing on architecture practice and architecture consulting in general. The latest release supports the primacy of business thinking in architecture rather than a focus on IT, which was often how enterprise architecture has been seen. 

The major changes that have been released in TOGAF Standard Version 9.2 include;

  • The structure of TOGAF is now treated as an "eco-system" that includes the core TOGAF Body of Knowledge but also adds links to additional guides, some of which can lead to further credentials with which you can showcase your achievements.
  • The description of the Architecture Development Method precludes a mistaken ‘waterfall’ interpretation and plays to the agile ideas that TOGAF has always supported.
  • The initial phase, Preliminary, now includes a tools strategy with much wider reference to tools beyond architecture such as business modelling and management including repository management, and governance.
  • The first phase in the TOGAF cycle, Architecture Vision, is now explicit about important, early modelling such as Value Chains, Value Streams and Capabilities.  This supports the primacy of business thinking in architecture rather than a focus on IT which was often how enterprise architecture has been seen.
  • The Business Architecture phase has been expanded and is supported by more useful entities and artefacts.
  • The monolithic 9.1 Specification has been slimmed down and surrounded by a useful ecosystem of guides, most of which are geared to the practitioner.  Some of the guides have also been extended, security is an example.
  • Definitions and terms have been worked over for clarity and simplification with extraneous or explanatory material shown as a note

What does TOGAF Standard 9.2 mean if you are certified in TOGAF Standard 9.1

TOGAF 9 certified practitioners do not have to sit a new exam (as was the case with the bridge from 8 to 9). The additional or changed material is extremely useful and valuable to learn. If you would like to show that you have “up-to-date knowledge”, then The Open Group has introduced the TOGAF Essentials 2018 credential that leads to an open badge.

TOGAF Frequently Asked Questions

Click here to view the most frequently asked questions relating to TOGAF

Student Reviews

Great Course.


Find out more about our courses and fast forward your future
Enquire Today