What is TOGAF?

In this article, we address the common questions of what is TOGAF and what are the TOGAF Architecture principles and look at the benefits of TOGAF training with EA Learning.


What is TOGAF?

TOGAF® 9.2 is a globally used standard for Enterprise Architecture. TOGAF is a framework for enterprise architecture that provides an approach for designing, planning, implementing and governing an enterprise architecture. TOGAF 9.2 certification is a trusted and vendor-neutral certification which ensures enterprise architecture professionals share the same standards across the world.


What are the TOGAF Architecture Principles?

The TOGAF Architecture principles provide a foundation for achieving strategic outcomes as they establish a set of rules to govern the behaviours and architectural decisions for an organisation. The TOGAF Architecture Principles are based on addressing the important metrics of getting tangible business benefits, obtaining maximum ROI on technology investments and on maximising the cost-efficiency of operations.


TOGAF Summary of learning outcomes:

Attendees of our TOGAF 9 course will gain an understanding of:


TOGAF overview of training with EA Learning

When you train with EA Learning, you will be taught by a certified TOGAF® instructor who has extensive experience as a practicing architect. They will guide you through the TOGAF® 9.1 specification and provide insights from their experience in the industry along the way.


Our TOGAF Training course will provide you with the knowledge to sit the TOGAF exam and achieve TOGAF Certification under the certification program established by The Open Group. This course not only covers what TOGAF is, it also provides you with the knowledge and understanding of the framework which you can then look to take back to your organisation to start to apply the TOGAF concepts and methods.


Feedback from past TOGAF Training attendees:

"Attending the course is a faster and more effective mechanism to absorb the material than self-study alone. Worthwhile to attend to hear real-world scenarios." - Senior IT Business Analyst

"This was an excellent course with continuous 'real world' application of the framework.   The facilitator was excellent at assisting us in applying / tailoring TOGAF to our individual organisations." - Senior Business Consultant

With a TOGAF exam pass rate of over 90%, EA Learning are the leading TOGAF training provider.

Fast forward your future with us, enquire now.

Have you read and agreed to our privacy policy?

Our accredited training course covers all of the TOGAF® Standard Version 9.2 Key Learning Points as defined in the Open Group’s TOGAF® Standard Version 9.2 curriculum. Included within this are the following subject areas:

  • The new concepts introduced to TOGAF® Standard Version 9.2.
  • The business rationale behind Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF® Standard.
  • The overall structure and contents of the TOGAF® Standard Version 9.2 document and the key subject matter content.
  • The Architecture Development Method (ADM) cycle and all the phases that make up the cycle.
  • The techniques defined for use in Architecture development.
  • The Architecture Content Framework and the purpose of each of the elements.
  • The guidelines for adapting the ADM process.
  • The Enterprise Continuum and Tools.
  • The concepts, taxonomy and graphical representations of the TOGAF® Standard reference models and their application.
  • The Architecture Capability Framework.
  • The make-up of an Architecture skills framework and why it is needed

      The structure of the course is as follows:

      Structure of the TOGAF® Standard

      Part I: Introduction​

      Part II: Architecture Development Method​

      Part III: ADM Guidelines and Techniques​

      Part IV: Architecture Content Framework​

      Part V: Enterprise Continuum and Tools​

      Part VI: Architecture Capability Framework​

     Structure of the TOGAF® Standard Library

     Section 1: Foundation Documents​

     Section 2: Generic Guidelines and Techniques​

     Section 3: Industry-Specific Guidance and Techniques​

     Section 4: Organisation-Specific Guidance and Techniques​


TOGAF® is a registered trademark of The Open Group

How TOGAF Standard Version 9.2 Differs From TOGAF Standard 9.1

TOGAF Standard, Version 9.2 is a great improvement on Version 9.1. The materials and flow in the latest release now has a more understandable, direct bearing on architecture practice and architecture consulting in general. The latest release supports the primacy of business thinking in architecture rather than a focus on IT, which was often how enterprise architecture has been seen. 

The major changes that have been released in TOGAF Standard Version 9.2 include;

  • The structure of TOGAF is now treated as an "eco-system" that includes the core TOGAF Body of Knowledge but also adds links to additional guides, some of which can lead to further credentials with which you can showcase your achievements.
  • The description of the Architecture Development Method precludes a mistaken ‘waterfall’ interpretation and plays to the agile ideas that TOGAF has always supported.
  • The initial phase, Preliminary, now includes a tools strategy with much wider reference to tools beyond architecture such as business modelling and management including repository management, and governance.
  • The first phase in the TOGAF cycle, Architecture Vision, is now explicit about important, early modelling such as Value Chains, Value Streams and Capabilities.  This supports the primacy of business thinking in architecture rather than a focus on IT which was often how enterprise architecture has been seen.
  • The Business Architecture phase has been expanded and is supported by more useful entities and artefacts.
  • The monolithic 9.1 Specification has been slimmed down and surrounded by a useful ecosystem of guides, most of which are geared to the practitioner.  Some of the guides have also been extended, security is an example.
  • Definitions and terms have been worked over for clarity and simplification with extraneous or explanatory material shown as a note

What does TOGAF Standard 9.2 mean if you are certified in TOGAF Standard 9.1

TOGAF 9 certified practitioners do not have to sit a new exam (as was the case with the bridge from 8 to 9). The additional or changed material is extremely useful and valuable to learn. If you would like to show that you have “up-to-date knowledge”, then The Open Group has introduced the TOGAF Essentials 2018 credential that leads to an open badge.

TOGAF Frequently Asked Questions

Click here to view the most frequently asked questions relating to TOGAF

Student Reviews

Great Course.


Find out more about our courses and fast forward your future
Enquire Today